Ethiopia Among The Forty-Four Countries That Have Signed African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA)


Forty-four African countries have signed up to a historic trade agreement aimed at paving the way for a liberalized market for goods and services across the continent.

The African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), was signed during the 10th Ordinary Session of African Union Heads of State summit held in the Rwandan capital, Kigali.

The AfCFTA gives birth to the world’s largest free trade area since the World Trade Organization which was formed in 1995. A total of nineteen presidents were present whiles a number of Prime Ministers and government representatives also signed for their respective countries.

Ethiopia Prime Minister Hailemariam wasn’t not able to attend the event due to ongoing crisis in the country as a result Bekele Bulado signed the agreement representing Ethiopia.

Countries and Signatories that have signed the in Kigali
1.Niger – President Mahamadou Issoufou
2.Rwanda – President Paul Kagame
3.Tchad – President Idriss Déby
4.Angola – President João Lourenço
5.Central African Republic – President Faustin-Archange Touadéra

6. Comoros – President Azali Assoumani
7. The Republic of Congo – President Denis Sassou Nguesso
8. Djibouti – President Ismaïl Omar Guelleh
9. Ghana – President Nana Akufo-Addo
10. Gambia – President Adama Barrow

11. Gabon – President Ali Bongo Ondimba
12. Kenya – President Uhuru Kenyatta
13. Mozambique – Filipe Nyusi
14. Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic – President Mohamed Abdelaziz
15. Senegal – President Macky Sall

16. South Africa – President Cyril Ramaphosa
17. Sudan – President Omar al-Bashir
18. Mauritania – President Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz
19.Zimbabwe – President Emmerson Mnangagwa
20. Cote D’ivoire – Vice President Daniel Kablan Duncan

21.Seychelles –Vincent Meriton – Vice President
22. Algeria –Ahmed Ouyahia – Prime Minister
23.Equatorial Guinea – Francisco Pascual Obama Asue – Prime Minister
24.Lesotho – Tom Thabane – Prime Minister
25. Morocco – Saadeddine Othmani – Prime Minister

26. Swaziland – Barnabas Sibusiso Dlamini, Prime Minister
27. Tanzania – Kassim Majaliwa, Prime Minister
28.Tunisia – Youssef Chahed, Prime Minister
29.Benin – Aurélien Agbénonci, Minister for Foreign Affairs
30. Burkina Faso – Alpha Barry, Minister for Foreign Affairs

31. Democratic Republic of Congo – Léonard Okitundu, Minister for Foreign Affairs
32. Guinea – Mamadi Touré, Foreign Affairs Minister
33. Liberia – Gbehzohngar Findley, Foreign Affairs Minister
34.Mali – Minister for Foreign Affairs
35. Somalia – Minister for Foreign Affairs

36. South Sudan – Minister for Foreign Affairs
37. Uganda – Sam Kutesa, Minister for Foreign Affairs
38. São Tomé and Príncipe – Cabinet Minister
39. Togo – Minister for Cooperation and Integration
40. Malawi – Emmanuel Fabiano, Foreign Affairs Minister

41. Cameroon – Finance Minister
42.Cape Verde –Tourism, Industry and Energy Minister
43. Libya – Mohamed Taha Siala, Minister of Foreign Affairs
44. Madagascar – Henry Rabary Njaka, Minister of Foreign Affairs
45. Zambia* – Joe Malanji, Minister of Foreign Affairs

46. Egypt – Tarek Kabil, Trade & Industry Minister
47. Mauritius – Vishnu Lutchmeenaraidoo, Foreign Affairs Minister
48. Ethiopia – Bekele Bulado, Trade Trade
49. Namibia* – Minister of Industrialization
50. Botswana* – Minister for Trade




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.